I’M COMING HOME

I just have to find my way!!!

Technology

Technology is amazing! It is unbelievable to think about where it has taken the medical practice. I have been watching the new show Hopkins. Last night, there was a boy that received a heart transplant. Not to long ago humans were dying from diarrhea and now with technology we are taking a heart from one person and giving it to another. 

Technology is everywhere. Video games, big screen TVs, computers and etc. How do we keep from being so immersed in the technology around us that we start to replace the eternal awesomeness of God with the temporary awesomeness of technology. The problem with being immersed in technology is we start to rely on it. (For Example) When we are having a bad day we might turn to the television to live our lives through someone else which is usually a fictional character and then we get depressed because our endings are never the fairy tell endings like they are on TV. That creates a whole new set of problems.

Technology can be so much fun! I love searching the web. I like watching tv and I love a good movie. It is easy to live in the comforts of technology. Here is the “however” part. However, these things that seem so reliable to fix our every problem and fill every void only last for a minute.

In a world filled with the distractions of technology, how do we stay focused on God? I’ve seen some church’s use awesome sound systems to aw the members because the old ones were dull and unimpressive. We are using video systems with big screens to try and keep peoples attention. I am glad I am not a preacher trying to come up with a sermon that can keep every ones attention this day in time. With today’s technology and it’s “awesomeness”, no wonder it’s so easy to find a man standing in front of a group of people “boring”. Our preacher is not boring by the way! Just thought I would state that since he may very well read this.

So, since we know that technology is making it more difficult to truly walk as Jesus would, the only way we can defeat this lie is immerse ourselves in His presence. When we immerse ourselves in His presence we find ourselves living in His awesomeness. When we see God as a God who is in some far off place, it is easy to turn to something close by like TV, Internet and whatever else to fill our needs. (Not that that is all God is here for.)

Think about this for a moment. Look directly to your left, God is right there. How awesome is that? When we start to see Him in our presence all of the time, we truly live. And I mean LIVE. Technology can’t compete with the awesomeness of God. So join me in taking our blinders off and immersing ourselves in His presence. I am slowly learning how to do this and believe me when I say there is nothing like it. I am finding myself to have peace in more areas of my life the more and more I immerse myself in His presence.

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

July 18, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

