I’M COMING HOME

I just have to find my way!!!

Written Prayer

I am warning you this will be a little long. But please read it. I am reading a book right now called Living Gods Love. In reading this book I have adopted the words of a daily prayer and made them my own. I want to give it to you to read. Think about making it a daily practice to pray this prayer. I give you warning though, it will be easy to read through this prayer quickly and not give it’s words much thought as it becomes part of your daily routine. It’s important to slowly pray this prayer and let the words sink in. This is not meant to take place of your other prayers. Doing this first thing in the morning helps me gear up for my daily walk with God. I hope it can do the same for you.

Father, I begin this day with the recognition that it is a gift from you. It is another day that you have provided, and I will rejoice and be glad in it. I accept it with a spirit of thanksgiving, remembering that each moment is irreplaceable and holy, and must not be wasted on bitterness or self-seeking.

Dear God, this privilege I have of speaking to you as a son/daughter to a father is also a gift from you-a gift made possible because of the sacrifice of Jesus. Just the thought of this causes me to shout your praise. You are holy God, the only God, God almighty, and I pray that your kingdom come and your will be done on earth as it is in heaven. I ask that you give me food for my table and forgive me of my sins as I forgive those who sin against me. I also ask for help in my continuing battle with satan.

May I this day find peace without want. I pray that I will overcome my craving for things-knowing that such demands are never ending and that life cannot be established on such a false foundation.

I will work toward treating everyone well. I will love them with no thought of reward. I will weap with those who weap and rejoice with those who rejoice.

Today I will strive to be humble in demeanor as well as in thought, for I know that pride can warp my life. Because I know myself, I confess that I have nothing about wich to be proud. My weakness and limitations cause me to face problems that often defeat me. Therefore, I confess my need for your help and the help of others-this help I will seek daily.

I will also work on developing patience. I will try to maintain a quiet mind in wich your spirit might work. I know there is value in silence in your presence and in the presence of others. May listening be my gift to those around me.

It is my goal to be less judgmental. This means I will be careful about the advice I give to others as well as any criticism I might make of them.

Because of my love and concern for my family and my friends, brothers and sisters in Christ, good works, and the world in general, I pray for the following. [This is followed by a period of petition for others by name].

I hope you will think about making this apart of your daily prayer if you don’t already have something similar.

July 22, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | 3 Comments